THE POSIES CO-HEADLINE WITH BRENDAN BENSON FOR U.S. FALL TOUR

THE POSIES CO-HEADLINE WITH BRENDAN BENSON FOR U.S. FALL TOUR IN SUPPORT OF BLOOD/CANDY OUT SEPT 28 ON RYKO

Posies Members Jon Auer and Ken Stringfellow Also Play on Brendan Benson’s Set

BLOOD/CANDY Album Release Show in NYC Sells Out in Two Hours


The Posies announce their U.S. Fall 2010 tour with co-headliner Brendan Benson and opening act Aqueduct, in support of their upcoming album BLOOD/CANDY on Ryko. Kicking off in Milwaukee on November 5th and wrapping up in their hometown of Seattle on December 11th, the tour spans over 20 major U.S. cities and immediately follows their European tour which begins September 28, the same day BLOOD/CANDY will be available nationwide.



 The Posies’ founders, Jon Auer and Ken Stringfellow, will also join Brendan Benson’s set contributing bass, guitar, keyboards and backing vocals.  Both Jon and Ken have a remarkable knack for interchanging their musical roles and are active members with other bands. They have lent their production and musical contributions to a myriad of artists including R.E.M., Snow Patrol, Big Star, the Minus 5, Bob Mould, Neil Young, the Disciplines, John Wesley Harding and William Shatner.

Prior to their full-fledged international tour, The Posies will perform the first live set of BLOOD/CANDY at their official album release show in New York City. Once fans were notified about the event, all the seats were sold within two hours.  The sold-out gig will be held at The Rock Shop in Brooklyn on September 23rd. 

BLOOD/CANDY is the band’s first album in five years and a testament to the band’s evolving sound, boasting melodic hooks, provocative lyrics and intricate layers of instrumentation that blend far-out, spacey sounds with sophisticated hues.  Spin.com calls BLOOD/CANDY a “nuanced, playful romp” with an “adventurous attitude,” and The Huffington Post states “depending on how you want to hear it, it’s a brilliant return to form or a daring move forward.” The band produced most of the album and teamed up with artists from Broken Social Scene, The Stranglers and Letters To Cleo for a variety of guest collaborations.

Tour schedule is posted below and was exclusively announced on Brooklyn Vegan. More dates will be announced shortly, please visit www.theposies.net and www.myspace.com/theposies for most up-to-date schedule.


THE POSIES TOUR DATES

Blood/Candy NYC Album Release Show
Sept. 23 Thu @ Rock Shop, Brooklyn, NY
  
2010 U.S. Tour Dates w/ Brendan Benson
Nov. 5 Fri. @ Turner Hall Ballroom, Milwaukee, WI
Nov. 6 Sat. @ Bottom Lounge, Chicago, IL
Nov. 7, Sun @ Southgate House, Newport, KY
Nov. 9 Tues. @ The Majestic Theatre, Detroit, MI
Nov. 10 Wed.@ Outland Live, Columbus, OH
Nov. 11 Thu. @ Mr. Small’s Theatre, Millvale, PA
Nov. 12 Fri. @ Water Street Music Hall, Rochester, NY
Nov. 13 Sat. @ The Highline Ballroom, New York, NY
Nov. 14 Sun. @ The Trocadero Theater, Philadelphia, PA
Nov. 16 Tues. @ Royale, Boston, MA
Nov. 17 Wed. @ 9:30 Club, Washington, DC
Nov. 18 Thu. @ Cat’s Cradle, Carrboro, NC
Nov. 19 Fri. @ Exit/In, Nashville, TN
Nov. 20 Sat @ The Loft, Atlanta, GA
Nov. 21 Sun. @ Minglewood Hall, Memphis, TN
Nov. 24 Wed. @ Granada Theater, Dallas, TX (No Brendan Benson)
Nov. 26 Fri. @ La Zona Rosa, Austin, TX
Nov. 27 Sat. @ The Argentum, Houston, TX
Dec. 1 Wed. @ Gothic Theatre, Englewood, CO
Dec. 3 Fri. @ Club Nokia @ LA Live, Los Angeles, CA
Dec. 5 Sun. @ The Independent, San Francisco, CA
Dec. 8 Wed. @ Aladdin Theater, Portland, OR
Dec. 11 Sat. @ Showbox at the Market, Seattle, WA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *